The MSA2023 organising committee are pleased to introduce our guest speakers.  



Dr Blair Hall, Principal Research Scientist, Measurement Standards Laboratory of NZ

Blair Hall leads a project in data metrology at the Measurement Standards Laboratory of New Zealand. He chairs the APMP Focus Group on Digitalisation in Metrology (DXFG), he is a member of the IMEKO technical committee 6 (Digitalisation), and a member of the NCSLI technical committee 141 (Measurement Information Infrastructure), he is also a member of a group advising the International Committee of Weights and Measures Task Group on the Digital SI (CIPM-TG-DSI). Blair holds a doctorate in physics from the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland, and has worked at the Swiss national metrology institute (METAS) and at Massey University, New Zealand, where he lectured in physics and electronics.




Dr Brian Young, Chief Executive Officer, IANZ

Brian is an experienced science leader, diplomat, and neuroscientist. He began his career in science with a BSc(Hon) degree in psychology at the University of Canterbury, followed by PhD study in behavioural neuroscience at Dartmouth College (USA). His neuroscience research work extended across UNC-Chapel Hill, and SUNY-Stony Brook in the United States, followed by the University of Otago and HortResearch in New Zealand.

Brian’s subsequent career in science diplomacy took him back to the United States where he was the inaugural Science & Technology Counsellor in the New Zealand Embassy (Washington DC). Following his diplomatic post, Brian was the Director, Research at the University of Otago, and for the nine years prior to his appointment at IANZ, he was the Director of the Defence Technology Agency.

In addition to his science leadership credentials, Brian has had nine years of governance experience representing New Zealand in several international Defence science & technology boards. More locally he is a board member of the Museum of Transport and Technology, and is a Chartered Member of the Institute of Directors.




Prof Timothy Naish, Professor of Earth Sciences, Victoria University of Wellington

Tim Naish is a Professor in Earth Sciences at the Antarctic Research Centre, Victoria University of Wellington, where he was Director from 2008-2017. His research focuses on past, present and future climate change with specific emphasis on how the Antarctic ice sheets respond to climate change and influence global sea-level. Has had made 15 expeditions to Antarctica, including leading the international ANDRILL scientific drilling programme in 2006-2007. He was  a lead author on the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, 5th Assessment Report. Tim is currently co-leader of the New Zealand Sea Rise Programme, that is has produced location specific predictions of future sea-level rise for managing hazard and risk to Aotearoa’s coastal communities. Tim and his “Melting Ice & Rising Seas Team” were awarded the 2019 NZ Prime Minister’s Science Prize. He was awarded the Tinker Muse Prize for Antarctic Science and Policy, the New Zealand Antarctic Medal and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of New Zealand.

     Jens Nicolaysen, Senior Lead Auditor, DQS Germany