

MSA AGM Minutes

23 November 2020, 4pm (Sydney) 6pm (NZ)

MSA Conference, Virtual Express meeting

List of Attendees:

Khaled Chahine, Cynthia Lendrum, Anne Evans, Tom Elliott, Daniel Burke, Daryl Pettit, Anthony Tobschall, Cheng Yang, Tony Bergen, Liam Shanahan, Gavin Tasker, Rowan Anderson, Mary Ryan, Srinivas Bobbala, Neil Sturrock, Brynn Hibbert, Kevin Gudmundsson, Paul Biddick, Greg Hender, Lenice Evergreen, Keith Fordham, Minyu Zhang, Andrew Yule, Saeedeh Saadati, Jason Dortmans, Anthony Dyke

Apologies: Daniel Turner, Paul McMullen

Proxy Forms:

Peter Saunders Adam Dunford Keith Jones Nathan Ryder Kathryn Morrow Kip Stavrou Paul Biddick Jason Clarke Josh Jourdain Jonathan Taylor Paul McMullen **Daniel Turner** David Booth Annette Koo Peter McDowall Laurie Christian Randall Anderson

Minutes of previous AGM meeting 4 March 2020, held at MSA2020, William Angliss Centre, Melbourne

- Moved to be accepted as correct by Anne Evans, seconded by Khaled Chahine, approved

Presidents Report: Khaled Chahine

Following MSA2020, we have a healthy membership. Current financial membership 230. Linked In followers now over 400. Implemented file storage solution on One Drive with 1 TB cloud storage. Improved technical tools – virtual express meetings, quick books financial reporting, online proxy form.

<u>APMP sponsorship</u> – MSA was a sponsor of the APMP meeting held in Sydney in November 2019.

<u>Standards Australia</u> - We came a nominated organisation by Standards Australia, members can be called on to become members of review committees. Working with Standards NZ on similar arrangement.

<u>Professional Metrologist Programme</u> - Tom Elliott reported on the professional metrologist programme. Slowly developing after many years consideration, and after MSA2020 a sub-committee formed to develop programme to release in January 2021. Open to all financial members. A peer reviewed membership to recognize expertise. Two levels - Professional Metrologist or Principle Metrologist depending on expertise, background and qualifications. Programme details and application form will be added to website from early 2021.

<u>Laboratories Credit Union Australia</u> – offered MSA members to join and enjoy financial benefit, lower fee loans, credit cards etc. For contact details, refer to September newsletter.

<u>NATA MSA2020</u> – reported by Tony Bergen, one of the last face to face conferences before COVID disruption. Held in Melbourne CBD, William Angliss Centre, worked well, great support from venue staff and caterers. 124 registered. Keynotes from Dr Barry Ingliss, Dr Murray Early, Dr Jonathan Mittaz, Dr Colin Alison. Single stream, 33 presentations, 5 workshops. Venue open plan format with Sponsors surrounded attendees for maximum exposure. Conference dinner held at MCG, tour followed by drinks and dinner. Acknowledge sponsors, platinum NATA. Feedback following conference was very good.

Treasurer's Report: Presented by Daniel Burke

Financial position as at 30 June 2020 \$244,034.63. Current balance \$247,531.22.

Committee to plan a sound business and investment programme in 2021 to present at AGM 2021. Include events for World Metrology Day, education initiatives, student sponsorships, and ensure members have a voice in these decisions.

Planning to increase membership into 2021, strengthen relationships with APMP community, upgrade website, events.

Election of Officers:

Nominations/seconders received for the following: President: Khaled Chahine – nominated by Anne Evans; Seconded by Neil Sturrock Vote - accepted

Vice President: Tom Elliot – nominated by Anne Evans; Seconded by Daryl Pettit: Vote – accepted

Secretary:	Cynthia Lendrum – nominated by Anne Evans: Seconded by Tom Elliott
	Vote - accepted

Treasurer: Daniel Burke – nominated by: Khaled Chahine; Seconded by Cynthia Lendrum Vote - accepted

Regional Members of the Committee, all current committee members are nominated to retain their position on the Exec Committee: Queensland – Rai Pippia (TBC), Greg Hender Vic/Tas – Paul McMullen, Jane Warne (TBC), Saeedeh Saadati (new) NSW – Jason Dortmans WA – Neal Sturrock NZ – Cynthia Lendrum, Daryl Pettit, Paul Biddick

Ordinary Members of the Committee: Tony Bergen, Anne Evans

Communication

Nothing to note, a few items of junk mail.

General Business

a. Committee to start planning a business and investment plan and get membership input by way of a survey.

Action: Anne Evans will create survey for sending to members before Christmas.

- b. Membership fee for 2021 Anne Evans moved fee remains at AUD\$45, Khaled Chahine seconded. Accepted.
- c. Member stories to share on website/newsletters/LinkedIn. Committee to shoulder tap members for stories of interest.

The meeting ended at 5.20pm

List of Addendums:

Presidents report – Appendix A

MSA2020 report – Appendix B

Treasurers report – Appendix C